How Much Is My Car Accident Claim Worth?
The worth of a car accident claim is fact-dependent. The short answer is that your case is worth whatever it’s going to take to make you whole. That’s the entire point of the civil litigation system – to make you whole again. As such, it varies in every single case and for every single person. I think the most important factor is to help the client get as close to being 100% physically, mentally, and financially whole again. That means fixing what can be fixed, helping what can be helped, and being compensated for what can’t be fixed or helped.
Some clients that come to us have had their initial attorney tell them that their case was worth a certain amount. Honestly, if an attorney tells a client in the beginning what their case is worth, they probably don’t really know what they’re doing. You can’t fully grasp the worth of a case until you know the eventual outcome of a client’s injuries. For instance, if somebody injured their back, you can’t say, “Well, your case is worth $50,000,” or, “Your case is worth half-a-million dollars.” You can’t place an amount because you don’t know if the back will heal after conservative treatment or after multiple surgeries. That’s a real tough question to answer until you allow the client to go through the necessary treatment and final prognosis. Only then will you have a clear understanding of what amount is necessary to make them whole.
If I Was Partially At Fault For The Car Wreck That Caused My Injuries, How Does That Impact My Personal Injury Case In California?
If you’re partially at fault for a car wreck, that means that you bear some negligence. Negligence basically just means needless endangerment. Typically, it doesn’t change your total damages. However, your damages are going to be deducted by the percentage of fault you have. For example, if your damages are $100,000, but you’re 50% at fault for the collision, the $100,000 will be reduced by 50% or $50,000.
What Is The Statute Of Limitations Or Time Limit For Filing A Personal Injury Claim In California?
The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim in California is two years. If you’re a minor, the time limit to file is two years from your 18th birthday. If the claim is against a government entity, you have six months from the date of the incident to file your claim directly with the appropriate government entity.
What Are Some Defense Tactics That Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying A Claim Or Limit A Settlement Offer?
The insurance companies follow three simple rules: deny, delay, defend. Insurance companies tend to argue the following: 1) their insured didn’t cause the collision; 2) if their insured did cause the collision, then you weren’t injured; 3) if their insured caused the collision and you were injured, then your injury wasn’t that bad; 4) if their insured caused the collision and you were badly injured, then the medical treatment was too extensive, unnecessary, or costly. And for good measure, the insurance company will also claim the injuries you suffered pre-existed before the accident.
If I Was Not Wearing My Seatbelt When The Car Accident That Caused My Injuries Happened, Could This Hurt Any Possible Settlement?
Failing to wear your seatbelt at the time of an accident can hurt the outcome of your settlement. By not wearing a seatbelt, you’re needlessly endangering your own self, which is a form of negligence. If the seatbelt could have prevented some, most, or any of the injuries that you received, the possibility of a settlement can be negatively affected.
If Everyone Involved Agrees That The Other Driver Was At Fault, Do I Still Need To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney To Take On My Car Accident Case?
The choice to hire a personal injury attorney after an accident is always yours, even if the other party is clearly at fault. However, it is wise to take note that insurance companies don’t have your best interest in mind. Their job is to pay as little as possible. When you hire an attorney, the attorney is required by law to put your interests first. They use their knowledge of the law to assert and protect your rights to ensure that you receive the treatment that you need and the compensation that you require to make you whole.
For more information on Auto Accidents In California, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (855) 675-2901 today.
Our Trial Attorneys Have A Solution.
Call Now For A Free Consultation.